The Last Letter of Valiant Hearts

Dearest Marry:

As the war ends for me, I have no regrets.

I've seen too much horror, I hope fate has been more mercyful to you. My time on Earth is brief and my life has been filled with so much joy, but I can only be thankful for how much I have been blessed, most specially for the wonder you brought into my life.

This letter is my last.I've been found guilty by military court for the death of an officer. It was not my intention to kill him. War makes man mad, though I failed Karl, I know my sacrifice has not been in vain. I fought for my country and my liberty. My honor is assured.

Since it is the will of god to separate us on Earth, I hope we will meet again in heaven. Keep me in your prayers.

Your loving Papa,

Always.

《勇敢的心 世界大战》游戏的一条线,该事件经过是这样的:

那段看着身边的人一个个倒下,真的很生气,杀长官那段没有任何提示,但几乎所以玩家都会站在那个长官身后按下攻击键
——B 站@香草芋圆奶茶{.pullquote .right}

一战贵妇小径战役中(一次大规模反攻,几天内法德双方就牺牲了共 10 万多人,然而对战线的推进没有任何帮助),诶米尔和战友被要求强行穿过德军火力网攻击德军,到最后一队只剩下几个人了。指挥官是找关系来军队镀金的,根本不会打仗,他为了捞名利让士兵去送死式冲锋。此时的战友已经被德军的密集火力和成堆的尸体吓得瑟瑟发抖不敢冲锋了,诶米尔觉得这是完全无用的牺牲,同时他也不希望战友再倒下。所以他就用铲子杀死了指挥冲锋的长官(其实只是想打晕但失手打死了),被判了死刑。

而上面的信,就是诶米尔在行刑前最后的牵挂。

Valiant Hearts

这里查看翻译后的信

亲爱的玛丽:

对我而言战争已经结束,我没有任何遗憾。我目睹了太多的悲剧,我希望今后命运能对你仁慈一些。这一生我活得十分短暂,但充满了幸福,我唯有感激,感谢上天将你赐予给我。

这是我写的最后一封信了,军事法庭以我杀害军官的罪名,判我了死刑。我并不想杀指挥官。战争使人疯狂,经管我辜负了卡尔,但我知道我并没有白白牺牲,我为了我的国家和自由而战,我已经获得了足够多的荣誉。既然命运让我们就此离别,那我希望我们会在天堂重逢吧,请为我祈祷吧。

永远爱你的爸爸。